The North East Senior Men’s team bid to beat Lancashire’s record number of team victories in the UK Inter Counties Cross Country Championships at Loughborough on Saturday, March 10.

The six-man team went into the record books last year by equalling Lancashire’s seven team wins in a row at Prestwold Hall.

North East selectors have selected their 16-man squad for the challenge ahead and four of last year’s counting six are on the team sheet again.

North East Senior Men’s Team Aiming To Be Record Breakers.

They are Northern champion Carl Avery (Morpeth), Phil Wylie (Cheltenham), Greg Jayasuriya (Middlesbrough and Cleveland) and Jarrow and Hebburn’s Andy Burn.

The rest of the squad are: Callum Johnson (Gateshead), Lewis Timmins (Morpeth), Jack Willis (Middlesbrough and Cleveland), Chris Smith (Morpeth) and Sam Hancox (Morpeth).

Sunderland Harrier Kevin Jeffress, the winner of the North East Masters’ Cross Country Championships on Sunday and Houghton Harrier junior Alex Brown are down as reserves.

The other reserves are: Adrian Bailes (Birtley), Tom Charlton (Tyne Bridge), Dean Newton (New Marske), Dan Jenkin (Durham), Lewis Gamble-Thompson (New Marske) and Conrad Franks (Gateshead).

If reserves are needed they will be selected according to their current form.

The women’s team is: Emma Holt (Morpeth), Jane Hodgson (Morpeth), Dannielle Hodgson (Morpeth), Chloe Price (Birtley), Lydia Turner (Birtley), Georgia Campbell (Jarrow and Hebburn), Helen Warburton (Gosforth), Steph Pattinson (Jarrow and Hebburn) and Jo Gascoigne-Owens (Alnwick).

Two Sunderland Harriers are included in the reserves in Alice Smith and Vicky Haswell. The others are Carla Maley (North Shields Poly), Gina Rutherfiord (Jarrow and Hebburn), Sharon Bulman (New Marske) and Shona Haston (Teesdale).

Houghton Harriers have a number of their young athletes selected for the younger age group events at Loughborough.

In the Under-15 Girls, they have three athletes in the team in Lydia James, Amy Leonard and Anna Pigford. Eva Hardie is reserve for the Under-17 Women’s team.

Henry Johnson and Will Bellamy are down for the Under-15 Boys’ team, while Tom Whelan and Adam Middleton are reserves for the Under-20 Men’s team.

Sunderland Harriers have Sarah Knight in the Under-17 Women’s team and Eve Quinn is reserve. Sean Mackie is selected for the Under-20 Men’s team.

Read More: